Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
 
 
 

On This Day in 1955
The first McDonald’s Restaurant opens, in Des Plaines, Ill., setting the stage years later for sociologist Amitai Etzioni to coin the term "McJob." As defined by the Oxford English Dictionary, a McJob is "An unstimulating, low-paid job with few prospects, especially one created by the expansion of the service sector."

April 15, 2021
Member Login
Username:

Password:


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?

Maryland passes tougher cell phone use law
Posted On: Apr 11, 2013

Cross-posted from Hands-Free Info

Apr. 11, 2013

Maryland distracted driving update: A get-tough bill that upgrades enforcement of the state’s existing handheld cell phone law to primary status has cleared the House and Senate. The measure also would make significant increases in fines for distracted driving violations.

First offenses will bring a $75 fine. A second offense could bring a ticket of up to $125, and a third to $175. The current fine for violations range from $40 to $100. The plan to assign points was removed by amendments.

The removal of the secondary enforcement provision of the handheld cell phone law means police can stop and cite violators for that reason alone.

The bill, sent to the governor on April 8, was a rerun of previously unsuccessful legislation by Del. James Malone. “They can’t have (a cell phone) in their hand whatsoever,” Malone says. The legislature did water down the penalties in the original bill.

Two other 2013 bills also sought to remove the secondary enforcement limitation on the state’s existing handheld cell phone law.

State Sen. Nancy King puts a spin on the enforcement issue. Her Senate Bill 193 of 2013 specifies primary enforcement if a child under the age of 8 is in the vehicle when the driver violates Maryland’s handheld cell phone law. King, D-Montgomery County, also sponsors a bill seeking to increase penalties for not safely securing a child in a vehicle.

The state made several technical adjustments to its existing distracted driving laws during the 2012 legislative session.

They included a separation of cell phones and texting devices under the legal definition of a “wireless communication device.”

Current prohibitions:

  • Text messaging prohibited for all drivers.
  • Handheld cell phone use banned for all drivers.
  • Fines between $40 and $100.
  • Drivers under the age of 18 prohibited from any use of cell phones.


 CANCELED:
APRIL 2021 
General Membership Meetings
Baltimore and Salisbury







UnionActive Newswire
 
Join the Newswire!
Updated: Apr. 15 (18:54)

Berg's Going Union Campaign
IBEW Local 332
Berg Press Release
IBEW Local 100
SAFETY SHIRTS
IBEW Local 191
Safety Shirts
IBEW Local 191
IBEW Organizing Press Release
IBEW Local 6
Berg Press Release
IBEW Local 659
 
     
A Note to Our Members:
As we pass the one-year mark of the Covid-19 pandemic, we will continue to do what we can to protect the health of our members and staff while providing you service and support. Until further notice, safety procedures instituted in March 2020 remain in effect. Click here for important notices regarding COVID-19 policies regarding our office and credit union hours of operation. If you need to see your business agent or have questions or concerns, give us a call at 410-566-5700.
 
 
Teamsters Local 355
Copyright © 2021, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

1010786 hits since
Visit Unions-America.com!

Top of Page image